The Engineer

We met up at a 24hr diner. He drove 3 hours to see me. He had never been here before. 

I get out of the booth when he arrives and neither of us are sure if we should shake hands or hug. We hug. He is stiff. I  am not nervous but he is.

He eats an omelete and I have pie. We both like our coffee black. We talk about work and travel, our pets, our mutual love for cars. 

The Engineer talks to me like I am his equal. He is intelligent and kind. We make plans to see eachother again.

But I’ll try not to think of it too much until then.

Leave a Reply

